Visual & Performing Arts
22
links. Showing 1-22. ---
Sort by title
Journals/Articles/Papers/Reports
Juilliard Manuscript Collection
Page through a collection of 138 priceless autograph manuscripts, sketches, engraver's proofs, and first editions donated to the Juilliard School in February 2006 by Bruce Kovner.
Bibliographic Databases
FirstSearch Databases (OCLC)
Provides access to more than 75 specialized indexing databases (no full text).
JSTOR
Reliable and comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature. Backfiles ONLY - no articles from within the last 5 years. ALL full-text.
Academic OneFile
Provides articles from leading journals and reference sources. Covers the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other academic subjects.
Academic Search Premier
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Picture databases
Google Image Search
A powerful search engine for retrieving images embedded in websites. To locate images of a particular work, type the title of the work and the artist's last name (example: vermeer and girl with a pearl earring)
Link Collections and Virtual Libraries
Google Directory: Music
A hierarchical index of quality websites covering all aspects of music.
WWW Virtual Library of Theatre and Drama
An index of online theatre resources from over 50 countries, for professionals, amateurs, academics, and students of all ages, updated daily.
Google Directory: Theatre
A hierarchical index of quality websites covering all aspects of theatre.
Google Directory: Art History
A hierarchical index of quality websites covering all aspects of art history.
Google Directory: Arts
A hierarchical index of quality websites in the arts, including Art History, Music and Theatre.
Musical Score
WIMA: Werner Icking Music Archive
Searchable database of free sheet music (mostly classical), with sound files.
Digital Mozart Edition
The purpose of this web site operated by the Internationale Stiftung Mozarteum in cooperation with the Packard Humanities Institute is to make Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart's musical compositions widely and conveniently accessible to the public, for personal study and for educational and classroom use. HINT: When you arrive at the search screen, select English in the upper right-hand corner of the page.
Reference Materials
Timeline of Art History
A chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world, as illustrated especially by the Metropolitan Museum of Art's collection, with thematic essays by the Museum's curatorial staff.
Grove Music Online
Grove Music Online is an integrated music resource on the web, including the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (second edition), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz (second edition). Grove Music Online is regularly updated to ensure it remains the most up-to-date music reference work on the internet. (From the FAQ)
Glossary of Theatre Terms
By David Eedle. Browse theatre terminology alphabetically.
ArtCyclopedia
A searchable index of websites displaying images of fine art works, specializing in painting and sculpture, also browsable by artist's name, medium, subject, nationality, and art movement.
Grove Art Online
Web access to the entire text of The Dictionary of Art, ed. Jane Turner (1996, 34 vols.) and The Oxford Companion to Western Art, ed. Hugh Brigstocke (2001). Offers ongoing additions of new and updated articles, over 1,500 thumbnail art images and line drawings displayed in the text of articles, extensive image links, and sophisticated search and navigation tools.
Internet Broadway Database
Provides factual information on Broadway productions from the beginnings of theatre in New York up to the present. Details include pertinent people involved as well as interesting facts and production statistics.
Sound
Naxos Music Library: Fantasy Jazz
Naxos Music Library Jazz is one of the most comprehensive collection of Jazz music available online. It offers close to 20,000* tracks of jazz from over 1,900* albums. Over 500* jazz artists are represented. Naxos Music Library Jazz comprises Naxos Jazz and the 22 labels of Fantasy Jazz. Naxos Jazz, along with Prophone and Proprius, brings you the world of international Jazz, covering Sweden and Scandinavian jazz artist. US-based Fantasy has the world's deepest jazz catalogue and offers the very best in blues and R&B. All these can be accessible from computers in academic libraries, home or office.
Minimum System Requirements:
Wintel user:MS Windows 98SE/2000/XP with MS IE 6.0/Mozilla 1.7.1/Netscape 7.1 and Media Player 9/10 (MS IE setting: Privacy = Medium, cookies allowed**; Sound setting = No Sound)
Mac user:OS X 10.2.8/OS X 10.3.5 with MS IE 5.2/Mozilla 1.7/Netscape 7.1/Safari 1.0 and Media Player 9/10 or OS 8.6/9.0 with MS IE 5.1 and Media Player 7.1 (MS IE setting: Security Zone = Medium, cookies allowed**; Sound setting: Sound Effect = No)
Classical Music Library
Classical Music Library is an ever-growing, fully searchable classical music resource—a comprehensive database of distinguished classical recordings. It includes tens of thousands of licensed recordings that users can listen to on the Internet. The audio selections are cross-referenced to a database of supplementary reference information. Unlike other resources on the Web, Classical Music Library is the only audio service developed exclusively with the needs of librarians in mind. It’s also the only dedicated library resource offering music licensed from major labels. Users browse, search, click, and then listen to the music over the Internet through their headphones.
Naxos Music Library
Naxos Music Library is the most comprehensive collection of classical music available online. It includes the complete Naxos and Marco Polo catalogues of over 165,000† tracks, including Classical music, Jazz, World, Folk and Chinese music. While listening, you can read notes on the works being played as well as biographical information on composers or artists in Naxos's extensive database. All these can be accessible from computers in academic libraries, home or office.
Minimum System Requirements:
Wintel user:MS Windows 98SE/2000/XP with MS IE 6.0/Mozilla 1.7.1/Netscape 7.1 and Media Player 9/10 (MS IE setting: Privacy = Medium, cookies allowed**; Sound setting = No Sound)
Mac user:OS X 10.2.8/OS X 10.3.5 with MS IE 5.2/Mozilla 1.7/Netscape 7.1/Safari 1.0 and Media Player 9/10 or OS 8.6/9.0 with MS IE 5.1 and Media Player 7.1 (MS IE setting: Security Zone = Medium, cookies allowed**; Sound setting: Sound Effect = No)
22
links. Showing 1-22. ---
Sort by title