Highly Recommended

Science Reference Center

21 links. Showing 1-21. --- Sort by title

Articles/Papers/Reports (individual)

ArXiv.org
Electronic archive and distribution server for research papers in the areas of physics and related disciplines, mathematics, nonlinear sciences, computer science and quantitative biology.
Bibliographic Databases

Medline 1966-Present
Premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature. Includes information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing, as well as other sources of coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. GoogleScholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.
Scirus
Scirus is the most comprehensive science-specific search engine on the Internet. Driven by the latest search engine technology, Scirus searches over 250 million science-specific Web pages, enabling you to quickly: • Pinpoint scientific, scholarly, technical and medical data on the Web. • Find the latest reports, peer-reviewed articles, patents, pre prints and journals that other search engines miss. • Offer unique functionalities designed for scientists and researchers. Scirus has proved so successful at locating science-specific results on the Web that the Search Engine Watch Awards voted Scirus 'Best Specialty Search Engine' in 2001 and 2002 and 'Best Directory or Search Engine Website' WebAward from Web Marketing Association in 2004.
PsycInfo
Definitive psychology database.
CINAHL (EBSCO)
Authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. Indexing and abstracting for current nursing and allied health journals and publications dating back to 1982.
PubMed
Open access database which provides bibliographic information in MEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, as well as selected allied health, life science, chemistry and general science journal literature. Includes citations back to the 1950s and current literature not yet indexed in MEDLINE; some full text available. Managed by the National Library of Medicine (NLM).
JSTOR
Reliable and comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature. Backfiles ONLY - no articles from within the last 5 years. ALL full-text.
Expanded Academic Index
General database with full text.
Academic OneFile
Provides articles from leading journals and reference sources. Covers the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other academic subjects.
Academic Search Premier
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Journals (individual titles - content and abstracts)

EJS - Electronic Journals Service
Gateway to thousands of e-journals containing millions of articles from hundreds of different publishers.
News

Newspapers Full-Text
Full-text of several major world newspapers such as the New York Times, Christian Science Monitor and Boston Globe, as well as Hartford Courant.
Reference Materials

Beachman’s Guide to the Endangered Species of North America (iCONN)
Presents extensive data on the habitats and ecosystems of more than 1,200 species identified as endangered or threatened by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife service. Arranged taxonomically, entries include introductory information with an image of the species; a summary section detailing information on each species; a concluding summary of recovery efforts; and a bibliography of contacts for further information.
Science Reference Center (EBSCO/iCONN)
Comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full text science-oriented content. Contains nearly 640 full-text titles from leading scientific encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, biographies and images. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife. A sample of the unique full text periodical content available through this resource: American Biology Teacher: 2005-present, Archaeology: 1999-present, Conservation Biology: 1998-present, Discover: 1993 - present, Earthwatch: 11/1996 - present, Ecologist: 2001 - present, Horticulture: 5/1990-present, National Geographic: 1/1995 - present, National Wildlife: 6/1990 - present, New Scientist: 1/2002 - present, Perspectives on Science: 1996-present, Scientific American: 1995 - present, Sierra: 5/1990-present.
Gale Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders, 1st edition (iCONN)
Information on genetic disorders including conditions, tests, procedures, treatments and therapies. Covers well known disorders including Down Syndrome, Trisomy, Hemophilia, and Tourette Syndrome and rarely seen diseases such as Meckel Syndrome, Neuraminidase Deficiency and Phenylketonuria.
World of Earth Science (iCONN)
This title in Thomson Gale's "World of" Series is a comprehensive guide to the concepts, theories, discoveries, pioneers, and issues relating to topics in earth science. Its encyclopedic approach offers approximately 650 entries in a convenient A-Z format, cross-reference headings, and is written in easy to understand language.
Chemistry: Foundations and Applications
Covers chemistry, its laws, processes, applications and subdisciplines. Reviews the history of the field, from the Bronze Age and alchemy up to modern research and practical applications. Includes biographies of scientists past and present and examines the role chemistry plays in various aspects of everyday life. Provides information about chemistry's many branches such as inorganic, industrial, atmospheric, and computational chemistry, and biotechnology.
Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine, 1st edition (iCONN)
Information on recommended therapies for specific disorders and diseases and medicinal uses for plants and herbs are balanced by conclusions of studies on efficacy and analysis of current levels of acceptance by traditional scientists and doctors. Includes more than 275 disease/condition entries, 300 herb/remedy entries and 150 therapies.
Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine, 2nd edition (iCONN)
Includes information on more than 1,600 medical disorders and concepts. Each article includes in-depth discussion of causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatments, procedures, and other related topics. Written for a general audience with an authoritative tone.
Biology Collection (iCONN)
A comprehensive collection of articles on all aspects of biological science, including its history and issues. Includes articles on biology-related careers and important individuals, as well as topics from active transport to zoology research. Amply illustrated with full-color photos and line drawings. Glossary illuminates scientific terms.
21 links. Showing 1-21. --- Sort by title

Find us on Facebook