Nursing, Health & Medicine: Highly Recommended

CINAHL: Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature

19 links. Showing 1-19. --- Sort by title

Bibliographic Databases

list-style-imgMedline 1966-Present
Premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature. Includes information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing, as well as other sources of coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology.
list-style-imgAgeLine
Index of articles and websites related to aging and gerontology, produced by AARP.
list-style-imgSocial Work Abstracts
Definitive resource for research and articles in Social Work.
list-style-imgPsycInfo
Definitive psychology database.
list-style-imgCINAHL with Full-Text (EBSCO/iCONN)
CINAHL with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 600 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index - with no embargo. Full-text coverage dates back to 1981.
list-style-imgPubMed
Open access database which provides bibliographic information in MEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, as well as selected allied health, life science, chemistry and general science journal literature. Includes citations back to the 1950s and current literature not yet indexed in MEDLINE; some full text available. Managed by the National Library of Medicine (NLM).
list-style-imgEBSCO Combined Databases
Search all EBSCO databases, or a selection of EBSCO databases, simultaneously.
list-style-imgHealth Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Provides nearly 600 scholarly full text journals, including over 400 peer-reviewed journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for over 615 journals. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong, including full text from Creative Nursing, Issues in Comprehensive Pediatric Nursing, Issues in Mental Health Nursing, Journal of Advanced Nursing, Journal of Child & Adolescent Psychiatric Nursing, Journal of Clinical Nursing, Journal of Community Health Nursing, Journal of Nursing Management, Journal of the Society of Pediatric Nurses, Nurse Practitioner, Nursing, Nursing Diagnosis, Nursing Ethics, Nursing Forum, Nursing Inquiry, Nursing Management, and many more. The majority of full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1975.
list-style-imgHealth Reference Center Academic
Find articles on: Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health and Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse, HMOs, Prescription Drugs, etc. The material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.
list-style-imgExpanded Academic Index
General database with full text.
list-style-imgBioOne
BioOne is the product of innovative collaboration between scientific societies, libraries, academe and the private sector. BioOne brings to the Web a uniquely valuable aggregation of the full-texts of high-impact bioscience research journals. Most of BioOne’s titles are published by small societies and other not-for-profit organizational publishers, and, until now, have been available only in printed form. BioOne provides integrated, cost-effective access to a thoroughly linked information resource of interrelated journals focused on the biological, ecological and environmental sciences.
list-style-imgAcademic OneFile

Provides articles from leading journals and reference sources. Covers the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other academic subjects.  Nursing students should note that the entire collection of 250 Lippincott Williams & Wilkins journals, covering the areas of nursing, medicine and allied health, are available through this database.  This journal content is available in full text with a 30-day embargo, and cannot be found in any other database.

Journals (individual titles - content and abstracts)

list-style-imgEJS - Electronic Journals Service
Gateway to thousands of e-journals containing millions of articles from hundreds of different publishers.
Reference Materials

list-style-imgScience Reference Center (EBSCO/iCONN)
Comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full text science-oriented content. Contains nearly 640 full-text titles from leading scientific encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, biographies and images. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife. A sample of the unique full text periodical content available through this resource: American Biology Teacher: 2005-present, Archaeology: 1999-present, Conservation Biology: 1998-present, Discover: 1993 - present, Earthwatch: 11/1996 - present, Ecologist: 2001 - present, Horticulture: 5/1990-present, National Geographic: 1/1995 - present, National Wildlife: 6/1990 - present, New Scientist: 1/2002 - present, Perspectives on Science: 1996-present, Scientific American: 1995 - present, Sierra: 5/1990-present.
list-style-imgGale Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders, 1st edition (iCONN)
Information on genetic disorders including conditions, tests, procedures, treatments and therapies. Covers well known disorders including Down Syndrome, Trisomy, Hemophilia, and Tourette Syndrome and rarely seen diseases such as Meckel Syndrome, Neuraminidase Deficiency and Phenylketonuria.
list-style-imgHealth & Wellness Resource Center
Up-to-date reference material as well as full-text magazines, journals, and pamphlets from a wide variety of authoritative medical sources. Consumers, students, and professionals are provided with descriptions of and links to several pertinent Web sites, selected for their usefulness and appropriateness.
list-style-imgGale Encyclopedia of Cancer (iCONN)
Includes entries covering cancers, cancer drugs, treatments, side effects, and diagnostic procedures.
list-style-imgGale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine, 1st edition (iCONN)
Information on recommended therapies for specific disorders and diseases and medicinal uses for plants and herbs are balanced by conclusions of studies on efficacy and analysis of current levels of acceptance by traditional scientists and doctors. Includes more than 275 disease/condition entries, 300 herb/remedy entries and 150 therapies.
list-style-imgGale Encyclopedia of Medicine, 2nd edition (iCONN)
Includes information on more than 1,600 medical disorders and concepts. Each article includes in-depth discussion of causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatments, procedures, and other related topics. Written for a general audience with an authoritative tone.
19 links. Showing 1-19. --- Sort by title

Find us on Facebook