History & Non-Western Cultures: Highly Recommended

JSTOR

18 links. Showing 1-18. --- Sort by title

Bibliographic Databases

list-style-imgGoogle Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. GoogleScholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.
list-style-imgMLA Bibliography of Language & Literature
Indexes critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Includes journal articles, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings and other materials.
list-style-imgJSTOR
Reliable and comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature. Backfiles ONLY - no articles from within the last 5 years. ALL full-text.
list-style-imgExpanded Academic Index
General database with full text.
list-style-imgSocial Sciences Citation Index
Provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in over 1,700 of the world's leading scholarly social sciences journals covering more than 50 disciplines.
list-style-imgAcademic OneFile

Provides articles from leading journals and reference sources. Covers the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other academic subjects.  Nursing students should note that the entire collection of 250 Lippincott Williams & Wilkins journals, covering the areas of nursing, medicine and allied health, are available through this database.  This journal content is available in full text with a 30-day embargo, and cannot be found in any other database.

list-style-imgAcademic Search Premier
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Government Publications

list-style-imgCIA World Factbook
The U.S. government's complete geographical handbook, featuring 271 full-color maps and flags of all nations. Each country profile tracks such demographics as population, ethnicity and literacy rates, as well as political, geographical and economic data. Updated periodically throughout the year.
Journals (individual titles - content and abstracts)

list-style-imgEJS - Electronic Journals Service
Gateway to thousands of e-journals containing millions of articles from hundreds of different publishers.
News

list-style-imgNew York Times Historical
ProQuest Historical Newspapers™-the definitive digital archive-offers full-text and full-image articles for significant newspapers dating back to the 18th Century. As part of the ProQuest Historical Newspapers™ program, every issue of each title includes the complete paper-cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format. This resource covers the complete run of The New York Times, from the first issue in 1851 up to 2004, and includes over 3.4 million pages.
list-style-imgNewspapers Full-Text
Full-text of several major world newspapers such as the New York Times, Christian Science Monitor and Boston Globe, as well as Hartford Courant.
list-style-imgHartford Courant - Historical
Full-page coverage from issue 1, volume 1 of the newspaper starting in 1764 with coverage to December 31, 1922. This searchable digital archive of more than 280,000 pages of important historical content offers article-level search results, article zoning and edited metadata, including headlines, bylines and first paragraphs.
Reference Materials

list-style-imgHistory Reference Center (EBSCO/iCONN)
The world's most comprehensive full text history reference database designed for secondary schools, public libraries, junior/community colleges, and undergraduate research. Features full text for more than 1,500 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers. Also includes full text for more than 100 leading history periodicals including Am! erica's Civil War, American Heritage, American Historical Review, American History, Archaeology, Aviation History, Civil War Times, Foreign Affairs, German History, History Today (back to January 1975), Journal of American History, Military History, Wild West, World War II and more. Further, the database contains 58,000 historical documents; 43,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 12,000 historical photos and maps; and more than 80 hours of historical video.
list-style-imgGale Encyclopedia of U.S. Economic History (iCONN)
Designed to answer such key questions as: How has the U.S. Constitution shaped the economy of the United States? What were the consequences of Prohibition on consumers' behavior? This title presents 1,000 entries, era overviews, event/movement profiles, biographies, business/industry profiled, geographic profiles, and more.
list-style-imgInformation Please! Almanac
A vast compendium of statistics with up-to-date facts and figures.
list-style-imgGale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America, 2nd edition (iCONN)
Contains 8,000 to 12,000 word essays on specific culture groups in the United States, emphasizing religions, holidays, customs, and languages in addition to providing information on historical background and settlement patterns. Also covers ethnoreligious groups such as Jews, Chaldeans, and Amish. Each essay lists organizations and research centers; name, address, and contact information for periodicals, radio, and television stations; and a further readings section.
list-style-imgSt James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture (iCONN)
Includes more than 2,700 signed essays ranging from 500 to 2,500 words, written by subject experts and edited to form a consistent, readable, and straightforward reference. Entries include subject-specific bibliographies and, where appropriate, photographs and textual cross-references to related essays.
list-style-imgStatesmans Yearbook
"Authoritative and accessible volume containing information essential for diplomats, politicians and all statesmen involved with international affairs. The Yearbook has been published continuously since 1864, through two world wars, without missing an edition. It was ranked by Library Journal as one of the top 20 best reference resources of the millennium and serves as the first point of reference for anyone needing reliable, concise information on any country in the world." (adapted from About SYB online)
18 links. Showing 1-18. --- Sort by title

Find us on Facebook