|
WCSU Libraries
Articles and Databases
Databases by Title
ABI/Inform
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=ABI_Inform
Premier worldwide business periodicals for information on advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more with nearly half full-text. Also, information on 60,000+ companies.
Academic OneFile
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Academic_Onefile
Provides articles from leading journals and reference sources. Covers the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other academic subjects.
Academic Search Premier
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Academic_Search_Premier
AgeLine
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=AgeLine
Index of articles and websites related to aging and gerontology, produced by AARP.
America: History and Life
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=American_History_And_Life
Definitive resource for journal articles and books covering American history.
ArtCyclopedia
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=ArtCyclopedia
A searchable index of websites displaying images of fine art works, specializing in painting and sculpture, also browsable by artist's name, medium, subject, nationality, and art movement.
ArXiv.org
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=ArXiv
Electronic archive and distribution server for research papers in the areas of physics and related disciplines, mathematics, nonlinear sciences, computer science and quantitative biology.
Associated Press (AP) Photo Archive
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Photos
The AccuNet/AP Multimedia Archive is a supplemental research tool that allows learners of all ages and areas of interest to search four databases that will take them on a sensory journey using photographs, audio sound bytes, graphics and text spanning over 160 years of history. Users have access to the Archive 24 hours a day, seven days a week, using any computer with web-browsing capabilities.
BasicBIOSIS
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=BIOSIS
Indexing for core life science journals most easily found in college and university libraries. (1994 - ).
Beachman’s Guide to the Endangered Species of North America (iCONN)
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Endangered_Species
Presents extensive data on the habitats and ecosystems of more than 1,200 species identified as endangered or threatened by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife service. Arranged taxonomically, entries include introductory information with an image of the species; a summary section detailing information on each species; a concluding summary of recovery efforts; and a bibliography of contacts for further information.
Biology Collection (iCONN)
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Biology
A comprehensive collection of articles on all aspects of biological science, including its history and issues. Includes articles on biology-related careers and important individuals, as well as topics from active transport to zoology research. Amply illustrated with full-color photos and line drawings. Glossary illuminates scientific terms.
Blackbirch Kid’s Visual Reference of the United States (iCONN)
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Visual_US
Contains more than 2,500 graphs, charts, maps, and photos that cover the most important and interesting facts about every state in the country.
Blackbirch Kid’s Visual Reference of the World (iCONN)
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Visual_World
Presents more than 2,500 graphs, charts, maps, and photos that cover the most important and interesting facts about every country on the planet.
Books in Print
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Books_In_Print
In-print, out-of-print, and forthcoming books, audios and videos, with optional reviews.
Boston Globe [iCONN]
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Boston_Globe
Full text of the Globe offers authoritative coverage of local, national and international news. Coverage: 1980-current.
Bureau of Economic Analysis
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Econ_Analysis
BEA produces economic accounts statistics that enable government and business decision-makers, researchers and the American public to follow and understand the performance of the nation's economy. BEA collects source data, conducts research and analysis, develops and implements estimation methodologies and disseminates statistics to the public.
Bureau of Justice Statistics
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Justice_Stat
The Bureau of Justice Statistics is a unit of the U.S. Department of Justice whose principal function is the compilation and analysis of data and the disseminatino of information for statistical purposes.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Labor_Stat
The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) is the principal fact-finding agency for the federal government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics. The BLS is an independent national statistics agency that collects, processes, analyzes and disseminates essential statistical data to the American public, the U.S. Congress, other federal agencies, state and local governments, business, and labor.
Bureau of the Census
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Census
The Census Bureau is the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy.
Bureau of Transportation Statistics
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Transportation
BTS’s mission is to lead in developing transportation data and information of high quality, and to advance their effective use in both public and private transportation decision making. Its focus is in three key areas, each mandated by legislation: 1) compiling, analyzing, and publishing a comprehensive set of transportation statistics; 2) making statistics readily accessible; and 3) implementing a long term data collection program.
Buros Test Reviews Index
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Mental_Measurements
Business & Company Resource Center
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Business_And_Company
Comprehensive research tool that meets the business research needs of students, job seekers and casual investors. Offers dynamic, accurate, and up-to-date topical business information and company and industry intelligence on thousands of global companies.
Business Newsbank
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Newsbank
Provides quick and easy access to hard-to-find local and regional company news for private and public companies. Selected full-text articles from over 400 business journals, newspapers and wire services.
Business Source Premier (EBSCO)
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Business_Source_Premier
Business Source Premier is the industry’s most used business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. This database is updated daily on EBSCOhost.
Campus Research
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Campus_Research
Campus Research is an easy-to-use online research service that provides college and university students with access to a comprehensive collection of news and business information and law-related resources. (from the About page)
Checkpoint FOR FACULTY
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Checkpoint_for_Faculty
Faculty access to tax materials.
Checkpoint: Tax & Finance Research
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Checkpoint
Integrated resource for students and tax professionals alike; includes practice development tools and authoritative analysis.
Chemistry: Foundations and Applications
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Chemistry
Covers chemistry, its laws, processes, applications and subdisciplines. Reviews the history of the field, from the Bronze Age and alchemy up to modern research and practical applications. Includes biographies of scientists past and present and examines the role chemistry plays in various aspects of everyday life. Provides information about chemistry's many branches such as inorganic, industrial, atmospheric, and computational chemistry, and biotechnology.
Choice Reviews Online
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Choice_Online
CHOICE reviews significant current books and electronic resources of interest to those in higher education. Each year CHOICE publishes more than 6,500 reviews by subject experts.
Christian Science Monitor [iCONN]
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Christian_Science_Monitor
A major daily newspaper covering national and international news and noted for unbiased, concise, and comprehensive coverage. Coverage: 1988-current.
CIA World Factbook
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=CIA_Factbook
The U.S. government's complete geographical handbook, featuring 271 full-color maps and flags of all nations. Each country profile tracks such demographics as population, ethnicity and literacy rates, as well as political, geographical and economic data. Updated periodically throughout the year.
CINAHL (EBSCO)
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Cinahl
Authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. Indexing and abstracting for current nursing and allied health journals and publications dating back to 1982.
CiteSeer
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=CiteSeer
Scientific literature digital library and search engine that focuses primarily on the literature in computer and information science. CiteSeer aims to improve the dissemination and feedback of the scientific literature and to provide improvements in functionality, usability, availability, cost, comprehensiveness, efficiency, and timeliness in the access of scientific and scholarly knowledge.
Classical Music Library
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=CML
Classical Music Library is an ever-growing, fully searchable classical music resource—a comprehensive database of distinguished classical recordings. It includes tens of thousands of licensed recordings that users can listen to on the Internet. The audio selections are cross-referenced to a database of supplementary reference information. Unlike other resources on the Web, Classical Music Library is the only audio service developed exclusively with the needs of librarians in mind. It’s also the only dedicated library resource offering music licensed from major labels. Users browse, search, click, and then listen to the music over the Internet through their headphones.
CollegeSource
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=College_Source
A virtual library representing 31,575 college catalogs in full cover-to-cover, original page format with 2-year, 4-year, graduate, professional and international schools.
Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO)
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=CCMC
Quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media, covering several hundred journals as well as major journalism reviews, recent encyclopedias, and handbooks in the area of communications studies.
County and City Databook
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=CC_Databooks
Official population and housing data from the 2000 Census, plus business and other data for all U.S. counties, cities with 25,000 or more inhabitants, and places of 2,500 or more inhabitants.
CQ Researcher
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=CQ_Researcher
Original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues shaping our world.
Danbury NewsTimes
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=NewsTimes
Access to the daily newspapers as well as archived content back to 2001.
NOTE:
Archive available from Haas Library ONLY.
Datamonitor Business Information Center (DBIC)
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Datamonitor
Premium business information company specialising in industry analysis; unbiased expert analysis and in-depth forecasts for seven industry sectors: Automotive, Consumer Markets, Energy, Financial Services, Pharmaceuticals and Healthcare, Technology, Transport and Logistics.
Digital Mozart Edition
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Digital_Mozart
The purpose of this web site operated by the Internationale Stiftung Mozarteum in cooperation with the Packard Humanities Institute is to make Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart's musical compositions widely and conveniently accessible to the public, for personal study and for educational and classroom use. HINT: When you arrive at the search screen, select English in the upper right-hand corner of the page.
Dun & Bradstreet's Million Dollar Databases (D&B)
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Million_Dollar_Directory
Information on approximately leading 1,600,000 U.S. public and private companies with over $3 million in sales and more than 50 employees. Company information includes industry information, type of ownership, principal executives and biographies.
EBSCO Combined Databases
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Ebsco_Combined
Search all EBSCO databases, or a selection of EBSCO databases, simultaneously.
Economic Research Service
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Econ_Res_Serv
The Economic Research Service is a primary source of economic information and research in the U.S. Department of Agriculture. ERS conducts a research program to inform public and private decision making on economic and policy issues involving food, farming, natural resources, and rural development.
Economics and Statistics Administration
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Econ_Stat
ESA provides broad and targeted economic data, analyses and forecasts for use by government agencies, business and others. It also develops domestic and international economic policy.
Educators' Reference Complete
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Educators_Ref
Formerly Professional Collection. This collection of more than 1,100 periodicals and 200 reports is a great resource for any educator -- from the school teacher and administrator to those studying in the field at the collegiate and graduate level. Provides full-text results for nearly half of the journal titles found in ERIC. This database covers multiple levels of education from preschool to college, and every educational specialty -- such as technology, bilingual education, health education, and testing. Educator's Reference Complete also focuses on issues in administration, funding and policy.
EJS - Electronic Journals Service
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Electronic_Journals_Service
Gateway to thousands of e-journals containing millions of articles from hundreds of different publishers.
Encyclopedia Britannica
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Encyclopedia_Britannica
Encyclopædia Britannica Online Academic Edition brings together the world-renowned content of the encyclopedia, with the speed and convenience of the Internet.
Encyclopedia of American Religions
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Encyclopedia_Religion
Contains general essays that historically trace the major religious families and traditions, as well as directory listings that include contact and descriptive information on individual churches, religious bodies, and spiritual groups.
Encyclopedia of Communication and Information
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Encyclopedia_Communication
Explores the full spectrum of communication, from careers to information technologies, in an interdisciplinary fashion. Emphasis is on both historical and current issues, topics, and people.
Encyclopedia of Education
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Encyclopedia_Education
Intended to provide a comprehensive description of the enterprise of education both within the United States and throughout the world. Approximately 900 articles offer a view of the institutions, people, processes, and products found in educational practice.
Encyclopedia of Small Business, 2nd edition (iCONN)
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Small_Business
Designed to provide entrepreneurs with how-to information that they can apply to their own business. Contains 600 detailed articles and overviews of all the key information needs of small business owners, including financing, financial planning, business plan creation, market analysis, sales strategy, tax planning, and human resource issues.
Energy Information Administration
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Energy_Info
The Energy Information Administration (EIA), created by Congress in 1977, is a statistical agency of the U.S. Department of Energy. It provides policy-independent data, forecasts, and analyses to promote sound policy-making, efficient markets, and public understanding regarding energy and its interaction with the economy and environment.
ERIC
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Ebsco_ERIC
Educational Resources Information Center - definitive education database indexing articles and ERIC documents.
Expanded Academic Index
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Expanded_Academic_Index
General database with full text.
Federal Reserve Board
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Federal_Reserve
The Federal Reserve System is the central bank of the United States. It was founded by Congress in 1913 to provide the nation with a safer, more flexible, and more stable monetary and financial system. It provides economic data, research and working papers, among many other services to banking institutions and government.
FEDStats
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=FEDStats
FEDStats accesses the full range of official statistical information available to the public from over 100 federal agencies.
FirstSearch Databases (OCLC)
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=FirstSearch
Provides access to more than 75 specialized indexing databases (no full text).
Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine, 1st edition (iCONN)
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Alternative_Medicine
Information on recommended therapies for specific disorders and diseases and medicinal uses for plants and herbs are balanced by conclusions of studies on efficacy and analysis of current levels of acceptance by traditional scientists and doctors. Includes more than 275 disease/condition entries, 300 herb/remedy entries and 150 therapies.
Gale Encyclopedia of Cancer (iCONN)
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Cancer_Encyclopedia
Includes entries covering cancers, cancer drugs, treatments, side effects, and diagnostic procedures.
Gale Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders, 1st edition (iCONN)
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Genetic_Disorders
Information on genetic disorders including conditions, tests, procedures, treatments and therapies. Covers well known disorders including Down Syndrome, Trisomy, Hemophilia, and Tourette Syndrome and rarely seen diseases such as Meckel Syndrome, Neuraminidase Deficiency and Phenylketonuria.
Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine, 2nd edition (iCONN)
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Gale_Medicine
Includes information on more than 1,600 medical disorders and concepts. Each article includes in-depth discussion of causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatments, procedures, and other related topics. Written for a general audience with an authoritative tone.
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America, 2nd edition (iCONN)
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Multicultural_America
Contains 8,000 to 12,000 word essays on specific culture groups in the United States, emphasizing religions, holidays, customs, and languages in addition to providing information on historical background and settlement patterns. Also covers ethnoreligious groups such as Jews, Chaldeans, and Amish. Each essay lists organizations and research centers; name, address, and contact information for periodicals, radio, and television stations; and a further readings section.
Gale Encyclopedia of U.S. Economic History (iCONN)
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Economic_History
Designed to answer such key questions as: How has the U.S. Constitution shaped the economy of the United States? What were the consequences of Prohibition on consumers' behavior? This title presents 1,000 entries, era overviews, event/movement profiles, biographies, business/industry profiled, geographic profiles, and more.
Gale's Ready Reference Shelf (Associations)
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Gale_Ready_Reference
Provides integrated access to 355,000 entries culled from the databases of fourteen of Gale's most popular reference directories, including Directories in Print, Directory of Special Libraries and Information Centers, Encyclopedia of American Religions, Encyclopedia of Associations, Encyclopedia of Governmental Advisory Organizations, Gale Directory of Databases, Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media, Newsletters in Print, Publishers Directory, Research Centers Directory, International Research Centers Directory, Government Research Centers Directory.
General Reference Center Gold
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=General_Reference_Center
Provides access to a wide variety of general interest and business magazines and periodicals including, some in full-text, as well as encyclopedic resources.
Glossary of Theatre Terms
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=GTT
By David Eedle. Browse theatre terminology alphabetically.
Google Directory: Art History
http://directory.google.com/Top/Arts/Art_History/
A hierarchical index of quality websites covering all aspects of art history.
Google Directory: Arts
http://directory.google.com/Top/Arts/
A hierarchical index of quality websites in the arts, including Art History, Music and Theatre.
Google Directory: Music
http://directory.google.com/Top/Arts/Music/
A hierarchical index of quality websites covering all aspects of music.
Google Directory: Theatre
http://directory.google.com/Top/Arts/Performing_Arts/Theatre/
A hierarchical index of quality websites covering all aspects of theatre.
Google Image Search
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Google_Image
A powerful search engine for retrieving images embedded in websites. To locate images of a particular work, type the title of the work and the artist's last name (example: vermeer and girl with a pearl earring)
Google Scholar
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Google_Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. GoogleScholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.
Google Uncle Sam
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Google_US
Google U.S. Government search offers a single search box location for searching across U.S. government information, and for keeping up-to-date on government news. All information is located on either U.S. federal, state and local government websites.
Grove Art Online
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Grove_Dictionary_of_Art
Web access to the entire text of The Dictionary of Art, ed. Jane Turner (1996, 34 vols.) and The Oxford Companion to Western Art, ed. Hugh Brigstocke (2001). Offers ongoing additions of new and updated articles, over 1,500 thumbnail art images and line drawings displayed in the text of articles, extensive image links, and sophisticated search and navigation tools.
Grove Music Online
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Grove_Music
Grove Music Online is an integrated music resource on the web, including the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (second edition), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz (second edition). Grove Music Online is regularly updated to ensure it remains the most up-to-date music reference work on the internet. (From the FAQ)
Hartford Courant - Current [iCONN]
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Hartford_Courant
Hartford Courant - Historical
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Historical_Courant
Full-page coverage from issue 1, volume 1 of the newspaper starting in 1764 with coverage to December 31, 1922. This searchable digital archive of more than 280,000 pages of important historical content offers article-level search results, article zoning and edited metadata, including headlines, bylines and first paragraphs.
Health Reference Center Academic
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Health_Reference
Find articles on: Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health and Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse, HMOs, Prescription Drugs, etc. The material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Health_Source
Provides nearly 600 scholarly full text journals, including over 400 peer-reviewed journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for over 615 journals. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong, including full text from Creative Nursing, Issues in Comprehensive Pediatric Nursing, Issues in Mental Health Nursing, Journal of Advanced Nursing, Journal of Child & Adolescent Psychiatric Nursing, Journal of Clinical Nursing, Journal of Community Health Nursing, Journal of Nursing Management, Journal of the Society of Pediatric Nurses, Nurse Practitioner, Nursing, Nursing Diagnosis, Nursing Ethics, Nursing Forum, Nursing Inquiry, Nursing Management, and many more. The majority of full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1975.
Health & Wellness Resource Center
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Health_And_Wellness
Up-to-date reference material as well as full-text magazines, journals, and pamphlets from a wide variety of authoritative medical sources. Consumers, students, and professionals are provided with descriptions of and links to several pertinent Web sites, selected for their usefulness and appropriateness.
History Reference Center (EBSCO/iCONN)
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=History_Ref
The world's most comprehensive full text history reference database designed for secondary schools, public libraries, junior/community colleges, and undergraduate research. Features full text for more than 1,500 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers. Also includes full text for more than 100 leading history periodicals including Am! erica's Civil War, American Heritage, American Historical Review, American History, Archaeology, Aviation History, Civil War Times, Foreign Affairs, German History, History Today (back to January 1975), Journal of American History, Military History, Wild West, World War II and more. Further, the database contains 58,000 historical documents; 43,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 12,000 historical photos and maps; and more than 80 hours of historical video.
iCONN Databases
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=IConn_All
iCONN is part of the Connecticut Education Network. It provides all students, faculty and residents with online access to essential library and information resources. It is administered by the Connecticut State Library in conjunction with the Department of Higher Education. Through iCONN, a core level of information resources including secured access to licensed databases is available to every citizen in Connecticut. In addition, specialized research information is available to college students and faculty.
iCONN Federated Searching
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=IConn
Search all of the iCONN databases at one time.
Information Please! Almanac
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Infoplease
A vast compendium of statistics with up-to-date facts and figures.
Informe!
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Informe
Una colección de revistas hispánicas con textos completos. Abarca negocios, salud, tecnología, cultura, temas de actualidad y otras materias.
InfoTrac OneFile
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Infotrac_One_File
A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.
Internal Revenue Service: IRS
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=IRS
Provides a wide range of tables, articles, and data that describe and measure elements of the U.S. tax system.
International Statistical Agencies
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=International_Stats
This link provides access to census and other statistical data from countries around the world. The links are for information from official government agencies and nongovernmental organizations. The links are collected and posted by U.S. Census Bureau, Systems Support Division.
Internet Broadway Database
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=IBDB
Provides factual information on Broadway productions from the beginnings of theatre in New York up to the present. Details include pertinent people involved as well as interesting facts and production statistics.
JSTOR
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Jstor
Reliable and comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature. Backfiles ONLY - no articles from within the last 5 years. ALL full-text.
Juilliard Manuscript Collection
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=JMC
Page through a collection of 138 priceless autograph manuscripts, sketches, engraver's proofs, and first editions donated to the Juilliard School in February 2006 by Bruce Kovner.
Key Business Ratios (D&B)
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Key_Business_Ratios
Provides annual financial performance ratios for the industry categories defined by the Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) system with additional breakdowns by asset size where available. Used to compare a company's performance against its industry/competitors or see trends in industry performance over time.
Knovel - Science and Engineering
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Knovel
Combines essential and authoritative reference books and databases from more than 30 Sci-Tech publishers and professional societies; covers 16 industrially important Subject Areas in the fields of Chemistry and the Life Sciences; Materials; and Engineering.
KnowPlay
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=
Reference utility lookup - includes dictionary, thesaurus, acronyms, atlas, encyclopedia, etc.
LegalTrac
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=LegalTrac
Indexes law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals and international legal journals. Also contains law-related articles from business and general interest titles.
Lexis Nexis Academic Universe
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Lexis-Nexis_Universe
Index to and full-text of legal news, court cases, law reviews, statutes, as well as major and regional news sources.
Library and Information Science Abstracts
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=LISTA
Indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.
Los Angeles Times
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=LA_Times
Major daily newspaper from Los Angeles. With the nation's largest editorial department, it offers extensive coverage of national, international, and local news. Coverage: 1985-current.
MediaMark Plus
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=MediaMark
Results of national probability samples of U.S. consumers' buying habits and preferences for specific consumer goods. Includes demographic characteristics and media audiences.
Medline 1966-Present
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=MEDLINE
Premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature. Includes information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing, as well as other sources of coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology.
Mental Measurements Yearbook (EBSCO)
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Mental_Measurements
Produced by the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska, the Mental Measurements Yearbook(MMY) provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership. All MMY entries contain descriptive information (e.g., test purpose, publisher, pricing) and edited review(s) written by leading content area experts. To be included in the MMY, a test must be commercially available, be published in the English language, and be new or revised since it last appeared in the series. First published by Oscar K. Buros, the MMY series allows users to make knowledgeable judgments and informed selection decisions about the increasingly complex world of testing. MMY provides coverage from Volume 9 to the present.
Mergent Online
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=FIS
State-of-the-art product provides Internet-based access to
the most detailed, accurate and comprehensive global company
information, with the latest in features and functions.
Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Merriam
Online version of the popular dictionary.
MLA Bibliography of Language & Literature
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=MLA_Bibliography
Indexes critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Includes journal articles, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings and other materials.
MLA Periodical Directory
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=MLA_Directory_of_Periodicals
Contains all information available on the journals and series on the Master List of Periodicals for the MLA Bibliography.
National Center for Education Statistics: NCES
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=NCES
The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education in the U.S. and other nations. NCES is located within the U.S. Department of Education and the Institute of Education Sciences.
National Center for Health Statistics: NCHS
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=NCHS
The mission of the NCHS is to provide statistical information that will guide actions and policies to improve the health of the American people.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=NCJRS
NCJRS is a federally funded resource offering justice and substance abuse information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide.
Naxos Music Library
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Naxos
Naxos Music Library is the most comprehensive collection of classical music available online. It includes the complete Naxos and Marco Polo catalogues of over 165,000† tracks, including Classical music, Jazz, World, Folk and Chinese music. While listening, you can read notes on the works being played as well as biographical information on composers or artists in Naxos's extensive database. All these can be accessible from computers in academic libraries, home or office.
Minimum System Requirements:
Wintel user:MS Windows 98SE/2000/XP with MS IE 6.0/Mozilla 1.7.1/Netscape 7.1 and Media Player 9/10 (MS IE setting: Privacy = Medium, cookies allowed**; Sound setting = No Sound)
Mac user:OS X 10.2.8/OS X 10.3.5 with MS IE 5.2/Mozilla 1.7/Netscape 7.1/Safari 1.0 and Media Player 9/10 or OS 8.6/9.0 with MS IE 5.1 and Media Player 7.1 (MS IE setting: Security Zone = Medium, cookies allowed**; Sound setting: Sound Effect = No)
Naxos Music Library: Fantasy Jazz
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Naxos_Jazz
Naxos Music Library Jazz is one of the most comprehensive collection of Jazz music available online. It offers close to 20,000* tracks of jazz from over 1,900* albums. Over 500* jazz artists are represented. Naxos Music Library Jazz comprises Naxos Jazz and the 22 labels of Fantasy Jazz. Naxos Jazz, along with Prophone and Proprius, brings you the world of international Jazz, covering Sweden and Scandinavian jazz artist. US-based Fantasy has the world's deepest jazz catalogue and offers the very best in blues and R&B. All these can be accessible from computers in academic libraries, home or office.
Minimum System Requirements:
Wintel user:MS Windows 98SE/2000/XP with MS IE 6.0/Mozilla 1.7.1/Netscape 7.1 and Media Player 9/10 (MS IE setting: Privacy = Medium, cookies allowed**; Sound setting = No Sound)
Mac user:OS X 10.2.8/OS X 10.3.5 with MS IE 5.2/Mozilla 1.7/Netscape 7.1/Safari 1.0 and Media Player 9/10 or OS 8.6/9.0 with MS IE 5.1 and Media Player 7.1 (MS IE setting: Security Zone = Medium, cookies allowed**; Sound setting: Sound Effect = No)
netLibrary e-Books
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Netlibrary
Newspapers Full-Text
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Proquest_Newspapers
Full-text of several major world newspapers such as the New York Times, Christian Science Monitor and Boston Globe, as well as Hartford Courant.
New York Times Historical
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=NYT_Historical
ProQuest Historical Newspapers™-the definitive digital archive-offers full-text and full-image articles for significant newspapers dating back to the 18th Century. As part of the ProQuest Historical Newspapers™ program, every issue of each title includes the complete paper-cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format. This resource covers the complete run of The New York Times, from the first issue in 1851 up to 2004, and includes over 3.4 million pages.
New York Times [iCONN]
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=New_York_Times
New York Times
Full-text coverage of the US newspaper of record. Offers superb coverage of national and international news, plus coverage of important speeches and documents, Supreme Court decisions, and presidential press conference transcripts. Coverage: 1980-current.
ODLIS - Online Dictionary of Library and Information Science
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Odlis
Comprehensive resource for terminology and language related to libraries and information science.
Oxford English Dictionary
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Oxford_English_Dictionary
A comprehensive, scholarly English-language dictionary based on historical principles, published by the Oxford University Press.
PsycArticles
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Psyc_Articles
Definitive source of searchable full text, peer-reviewed articles on current issues in psychology. The PsycARTICLES database covers general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research. The database contains more than 39,000 searchable full text articles from 45 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and 8 from allied organizations. It contains all journal articles, letters to the editor and errata from each of the 53 journals. Coverage spans from 1985 to the present.
 |