|
WCSU Libraries
Articles and Databases
Social Sciences
34 links. Showing 1-30. --- More --- Sort by title
Bibliographic Databases
Google Scholar
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Google...
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. GoogleScholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research. Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO)
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=CCMC
Quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media, covering several hundred journals as well as major journalism reviews, recent encyclopedias, and handbooks in the area of communications studies. AgeLine
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=AgeLin...
Index of articles and websites related to aging and gerontology, produced by AARP.
Social Work Abstracts
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Social...
Definitive resource for research and articles in Social Work. SocINDEX
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=SocIND...
Replaces Sociological Abstracts. SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. Its extensive scope and content provide users with a wealth of extremely useful information encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study. The database features more than 1,600,000 records with subject headings from a 15,600 term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. This product also contains informative abstracts for 640 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as 1895. In addition, this file provides data mined from more than 530 "priority" coverage journals as well as from over 1,420 "selective" coverage journals. PsycInfo
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=PsycIn...
Definitive psychology database. JSTOR
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Jstor
Reliable and comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature. Backfiles ONLY - no articles from within the last 5 years. ALL full-text. Expanded Academic Index
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Expand...
General database with full text. General Reference Center Gold
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Genera...
Provides access to a wide variety of general interest and business magazines and periodicals including, some in full-text, as well as encyclopedic resources. Social Sciences Citation Index
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=SSCI
Provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in over 1,700 of the world's leading scholarly social sciences journals covering more than 50 disciplines.
Governmental Bodies
Bureau of Economic Analysis
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Econ_A...
BEA produces economic accounts statistics that enable government and business decision-makers, researchers and the American public to follow and understand the performance of the nation's economy. BEA collects source data, conducts research and analysis, develops and implements estimation methodologies and disseminates statistics to the public. Federal Reserve Board
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Federa...
The Federal Reserve System is the central bank of the United States. It was founded by Congress in 1913 to provide the nation with a safer, more flexible, and more stable monetary and financial system. It provides economic data, research and working papers, among many other services to banking institutions and government.
Government Publications
CIA World Factbook
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=CIA_Fa...
The U.S. government's complete geographical handbook, featuring 271 full-color maps and flags of all nations. Each country profile tracks such demographics as population, ethnicity and literacy rates, as well as political, geographical and economic data. Updated periodically throughout the year.
Journals (individual titles - content and abstracts)
EJS - Electronic Journals Service
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Electr...
Gateway to thousands of e-journals containing millions of articles from hundreds of different publishers.
Laws
Campus Research
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Campus...
Campus Research is an easy-to-use online research service that provides college and university students with access to a comprehensive collection of news and business information and law-related resources. (from the About page)
News
New York Times Historical
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=NYT_Hi...
ProQuest Historical Newspapers™-the definitive digital archive-offers full-text and full-image articles for significant newspapers dating back to the 18th Century. As part of the ProQuest Historical Newspapers™ program, every issue of each title includes the complete paper-cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format. This resource covers the complete run of The New York Times, from the first issue in 1851 up to 2004, and includes over 3.4 million pages.
Newspapers Full-Text
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Proque...
Full-text of several major world newspapers such as the New York Times, Christian Science Monitor and Boston Globe, as well as Hartford Courant. Hartford Courant - Historical
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Histor...
Full-page coverage from issue 1, volume 1 of the newspaper starting in 1764 with coverage to December 31, 1922. This searchable digital archive of more than 280,000 pages of important historical content offers article-level search results, article zoning and edited metadata, including headlines, bylines and first paragraphs.
Reference Materials
Encyclopedia of American Religions
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Encycl...
Contains general essays that historically trace the major religious families and traditions, as well as directory listings that include contact and descriptive information on individual churches, religious bodies, and spiritual groups. History Reference Center (EBSCO/iCONN)
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Histor...
The world's most comprehensive full text history reference database designed for secondary schools, public libraries, junior/community colleges, and undergraduate research. Features full text for more than 1,500 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers. Also includes full text for more than 100 leading history periodicals including Am! erica's Civil War, American Heritage, American Historical Review, American History, Archaeology, Aviation History, Civil War Times, Foreign Affairs, German History, History Today (back to January 1975), Journal of American History, Military History, Wild West, World War II and more. Further, the database contains 58,000 historical documents; 43,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 12,000 historical photos and maps; and more than 80 hours of historical video. Gale Encyclopedia of U.S. Economic History (iCONN)
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Econom...
Designed to answer such key questions as: How has the U.S. Constitution shaped the economy of the United States? What were the consequences of Prohibition on consumers' behavior? This title presents 1,000 entries, era overviews, event/movement profiles, biographies, business/industry profiled, geographic profiles, and more. Information Please! Almanac
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Infopl...
A vast compendium of statistics with up-to-date facts and figures. Blackbirch Kid’s Visual Reference of the World (iCONN)
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Visual...
Presents more than 2,500 graphs, charts, maps, and photos that cover the most important and interesting facts about every country on the planet. Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America, 2nd edition (iCONN)
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Multic...
Contains 8,000 to 12,000 word essays on specific culture groups in the United States, emphasizing religions, holidays, customs, and languages in addition to providing information on historical background and settlement patterns. Also covers ethnoreligious groups such as Jews, Chaldeans, and Amish. Each essay lists organizations and research centers; name, address, and contact information for periodicals, radio, and television stations; and a further readings section. Encyclopedia of Communication and Information
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Encycl...
Explores the full spectrum of communication, from careers to information technologies, in an interdisciplinary fashion. Emphasis is on both historical and current issues, topics, and people. Buros Test Reviews Index
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Mental...
St James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture (iCONN)
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Popula...
Includes more than 2,700 signed essays ranging from 500 to 2,500 words, written by subject experts and edited to form a consistent, readable, and straightforward reference. Entries include subject-specific bibliographies and, where appropriate, photographs and textual cross-references to related essays. CQ Researcher
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=CQ_Res...
Original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues shaping our world.
Statesmans Yearbook
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=States...
"Authoritative and accessible volume containing information essential for diplomats, politicians and all statesmen involved with international affairs. The Yearbook has been published continuously since 1864, through two world wars, without missing an edition. It was ranked by Library Journal as one of the top 20 best reference resources of the millennium and serves as the first point of reference for anyone needing reliable, concise information on any country in the world." (adapted from About SYB online)
Statistics/Datasets
Bureau of Justice Statistics
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Justic...
The Bureau of Justice Statistics is a unit of the U.S. Department of Justice whose principal function is the compilation and analysis of data and the disseminatino of information for statistical purposes. 34 links. Showing 1-30. --- More --- Sort by title
|