Reference & Statistical: Highly Recommended

CQ Researcher

39 links. Showing 1-30. --- More --- Sort by title

Bibliographic Databases

list-style-imgInfoTrac OneFile
A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.
list-style-imgGeneral Reference Center Gold
Provides access to a wide variety of general interest and business magazines and periodicals including, some in full-text, as well as encyclopedic resources.
Company Information

list-style-imgDun & Bradstreet's Million Dollar Databases (D&B)
Information on approximately leading 1,600,000 U.S. public and private companies with over $3 million in sales and more than 50 employees. Company information includes industry information, type of ownership, principal executives and biographies.
Directories

list-style-imgGale's Ready Reference Shelf (Associations)
Provides integrated access to 355,000 entries culled from the databases of fourteen of Gale's most popular reference directories, including Directories in Print, Directory of Special Libraries and Information Centers, Encyclopedia of American Religions, Encyclopedia of Associations, Encyclopedia of Governmental Advisory Organizations, Gale Directory of Databases, Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media, Newsletters in Print, Publishers Directory, Research Centers Directory, International Research Centers Directory, Government Research Centers Directory.
list-style-imgCollegeSource
A virtual library representing 31,575 college catalogs in full cover-to-cover, original page format with 2-year, 4-year, graduate, professional and international schools.
list-style-imgUlrich's Periodicals Directory
Ulrich’s Periodicals Directory™ is a bibliographic database providing detailed, comprehensive, and authoritative information on serials published throughout the world. It covers all subjects, and includes publications that are published regularly or irregularly and are circulated free of charge or by paid subscription. Limited to 2 concurrent users.
Governmental Bodies

list-style-imgFederal Reserve Board
The Federal Reserve System is the central bank of the United States. It was founded by Congress in 1913 to provide the nation with a safer, more flexible, and more stable monetary and financial system. It provides economic data, research and working papers, among many other services to banking institutions and government.
Government Publications

list-style-imgCIA World Factbook
The U.S. government's complete geographical handbook, featuring 271 full-color maps and flags of all nations. Each country profile tracks such demographics as population, ethnicity and literacy rates, as well as political, geographical and economic data. Updated periodically throughout the year.
News

list-style-imgNew York Times Historical
ProQuest Historical Newspapers™-the definitive digital archive-offers full-text and full-image articles for significant newspapers dating back to the 18th Century. As part of the ProQuest Historical Newspapers™ program, every issue of each title includes the complete paper-cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format. This resource covers the complete run of The New York Times, from the first issue in 1851 up to 2004, and includes over 3.4 million pages.
Reference Materials

list-style-imgEncyclopedia of American Religions
Contains general essays that historically trace the major religious families and traditions, as well as directory listings that include contact and descriptive information on individual churches, religious bodies, and spiritual groups.
list-style-imgOxford English Dictionary
A comprehensive, scholarly English-language dictionary based on historical principles, published by the Oxford University Press.
list-style-imgHistory Reference Center (EBSCO/iCONN)
The world's most comprehensive full text history reference database designed for secondary schools, public libraries, junior/community colleges, and undergraduate research. Features full text for more than 1,500 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers. Also includes full text for more than 100 leading history periodicals including Am! erica's Civil War, American Heritage, American Historical Review, American History, Archaeology, Aviation History, Civil War Times, Foreign Affairs, German History, History Today (back to January 1975), Journal of American History, Military History, Wild West, World War II and more. Further, the database contains 58,000 historical documents; 43,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 12,000 historical photos and maps; and more than 80 hours of historical video.
list-style-imgInformation Please! Almanac
A vast compendium of statistics with up-to-date facts and figures.
list-style-imgBeachman’s Guide to the Endangered Species of North America (iCONN)
Presents extensive data on the habitats and ecosystems of more than 1,200 species identified as endangered or threatened by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife service. Arranged taxonomically, entries include introductory information with an image of the species; a summary section detailing information on each species; a concluding summary of recovery efforts; and a bibliography of contacts for further information.
list-style-imgWorld of Learning
Database of international scholarship and academia.
list-style-imgMerriam-Webster Online Dictionary
Online version of the popular dictionary.
list-style-imgOxford Music Online
Formerly Grove Music Online. Oxford Music Online is a new gateway that offers users the ability, for the first time ever, to access and cross-search the vast resources of Oxford's music reference in one location. The cornerstone of Oxford Music Online is Grove Music Online, but also includes The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, and The Oxford Companion to Music.
list-style-imgWorld of Earth Science (iCONN)
This title in Thomson Gale's "World of" Series is a comprehensive guide to the concepts, theories, discoveries, pioneers, and issues relating to topics in earth science. Its encyclopedic approach offers approximately 650 entries in a convenient A-Z format, cross-reference headings, and is written in easy to understand language.
list-style-imgEncyclopedia of Education
Intended to provide a comprehensive description of the enterprise of education both within the United States and throughout the world. Approximately 900 articles offer a view of the institutions, people, processes, and products found in educational practice.
list-style-imgBlackbirch Kid’s Visual Reference of the World (iCONN)
Presents more than 2,500 graphs, charts, maps, and photos that cover the most important and interesting facts about every country on the planet.
list-style-imgOxford Art Online
[formerly Grove Art Online] Web access to the entire text of The Dictionary of Art, ed. Jane Turner (1996, 34 vols.) and The Oxford Companion to Western Art, ed. Hugh Brigstocke (2001). Offers ongoing additions of new and updated articles, over 1,500 thumbnail art images and line drawings displayed in the text of articles, extensive image links, and sophisticated search and navigation tools.
list-style-imgHealth & Wellness Resource Center
Up-to-date reference material as well as full-text magazines, journals, and pamphlets from a wide variety of authoritative medical sources. Consumers, students, and professionals are provided with descriptions of and links to several pertinent Web sites, selected for their usefulness and appropriateness.
list-style-imgGale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America, 2nd edition (iCONN)
Contains 8,000 to 12,000 word essays on specific culture groups in the United States, emphasizing religions, holidays, customs, and languages in addition to providing information on historical background and settlement patterns. Also covers ethnoreligious groups such as Jews, Chaldeans, and Amish. Each essay lists organizations and research centers; name, address, and contact information for periodicals, radio, and television stations; and a further readings section.
list-style-imgEncyclopedia of Communication and Information
Explores the full spectrum of communication, from careers to information technologies, in an interdisciplinary fashion. Emphasis is on both historical and current issues, topics, and people.
list-style-imgSt James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture (iCONN)
Includes more than 2,700 signed essays ranging from 500 to 2,500 words, written by subject experts and edited to form a consistent, readable, and straightforward reference. Entries include subject-specific bibliographies and, where appropriate, photographs and textual cross-references to related essays.
list-style-imgODLIS - Online Dictionary of Library and Information Science
Comprehensive resource for terminology and language related to libraries and information science.
list-style-imgCQ Researcher
Original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues shaping our world.
list-style-imgStatesmans Yearbook
"Authoritative and accessible volume containing information essential for diplomats, politicians and all statesmen involved with international affairs. The Yearbook has been published continuously since 1864, through two world wars, without missing an edition. It was ranked by Library Journal as one of the top 20 best reference resources of the millennium and serves as the first point of reference for anyone needing reliable, concise information on any country in the world." (adapted from About SYB online)
list-style-imgGale Encyclopedia of Medicine, 2nd edition (iCONN)
Includes information on more than 1,600 medical disorders and concepts. Each article includes in-depth discussion of causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatments, procedures, and other related topics. Written for a general audience with an authoritative tone.
list-style-imgBlackbirch Kid’s Visual Reference of the United States (iCONN)
Contains more than 2,500 graphs, charts, maps, and photos that cover the most important and interesting facts about every state in the country.
39 links. Showing 1-30. --- More --- Sort by title

Find us on Facebook