|
WCSU Libraries
Articles and Databases
Nursing, Health & Medicine
18 links. Showing 1-18. --- Sort by title
Bibliographic Databases
Medline 1966-Present
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=MEDLIN...
Premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature. Includes information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing, as well as other sources of coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology. AgeLine
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=AgeLin...
Index of articles and websites related to aging and gerontology, produced by AARP.
Social Work Abstracts
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Social...
Definitive resource for research and articles in Social Work. PsycInfo
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=PsycIn...
Definitive psychology database. CINAHL (EBSCO)
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Cinahl
Authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. Indexing and abstracting for current nursing and allied health journals and publications dating back to 1982.
PubMed
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=PubMed
Open access database which provides bibliographic information in MEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, as well as selected allied health, life science, chemistry and general science journal literature. Includes citations back to the 1950s and current literature not yet indexed in MEDLINE; some full text available. Managed by the National Library of Medicine (NLM). EBSCO Combined Databases
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Ebsco_...
Search all EBSCO databases, or a selection of EBSCO databases, simultaneously. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Health...
Provides nearly 600 scholarly full text journals, including over 400 peer-reviewed journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for over 615 journals. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong, including full text from Creative Nursing, Issues in Comprehensive Pediatric Nursing, Issues in Mental Health Nursing, Journal of Advanced Nursing, Journal of Child & Adolescent Psychiatric Nursing, Journal of Clinical Nursing, Journal of Community Health Nursing, Journal of Nursing Management, Journal of the Society of Pediatric Nurses, Nurse Practitioner, Nursing, Nursing Diagnosis, Nursing Ethics, Nursing Forum, Nursing Inquiry, Nursing Management, and many more. The majority of full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1975. Health Reference Center Academic
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Health...
Find articles on: Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health and Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse, HMOs, Prescription Drugs, etc. The material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only. Expanded Academic Index
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Expand...
General database with full text.
Journals (individual titles - content and abstracts)
EJS - Electronic Journals Service
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Electr...
Gateway to thousands of e-journals containing millions of articles from hundreds of different publishers.
Reference Materials
Science Reference Center (EBSCO/iCONN)
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Scienc...
Comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full text science-oriented content. Contains nearly 640 full-text titles from leading scientific encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, biographies and images. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife. A sample of the unique full text periodical content available through this resource: American Biology Teacher: 2005-present, Archaeology: 1999-present, Conservation Biology: 1998-present, Discover: 1993 - present, Earthwatch: 11/1996 - present, Ecologist: 2001 - present, Horticulture: 5/1990-present, National Geographic: 1/1995 - present, National Wildlife: 6/1990 - present, New Scientist: 1/2002 - present, Perspectives on Science: 1996-present, Scientific American: 1995 - present, Sierra: 5/1990-present. Gale Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders, 1st edition (iCONN)
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Geneti...
Information on genetic disorders including conditions, tests, procedures, treatments and therapies. Covers well known disorders including Down Syndrome, Trisomy, Hemophilia, and Tourette Syndrome and rarely seen diseases such as Meckel Syndrome, Neuraminidase Deficiency and Phenylketonuria. Health & Wellness Resource Center
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Health...
Up-to-date reference material as well as full-text magazines, journals, and pamphlets from a wide variety of authoritative medical sources. Consumers, students, and professionals are provided with descriptions of and links to several pertinent Web sites, selected for their usefulness and appropriateness.
Gale Encyclopedia of Cancer (iCONN)
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Cancer...
Includes entries covering cancers, cancer drugs, treatments, side effects, and diagnostic procedures. Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine, 1st edition (iCONN)
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Altern...
Information on recommended therapies for specific disorders and diseases and medicinal uses for plants and herbs are balanced by conclusions of studies on efficacy and analysis of current levels of acceptance by traditional scientists and doctors. Includes more than 275 disease/condition entries, 300 herb/remedy entries and 150 therapies. Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine, 2nd edition (iCONN)
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Gale_M...
Includes information on more than 1,600 medical disorders and concepts. Each article includes in-depth discussion of causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatments, procedures, and other related topics. Written for a general audience with an authoritative tone. Biology Collection (iCONN)
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Biolog...
A comprehensive collection of articles on all aspects of biological science, including its history and issues. Includes articles on biology-related careers and important individuals, as well as topics from active transport to zoology research. Amply illustrated with full-color photos and line drawings. Glossary illuminates scientific terms. 18 links. Showing 1-18. --- Sort by title
|