University Libraries Haas | Young | Archives studentquiltselevatorilluminata
 
   About the Libraries Contact Us Hours Help PIN Codes
Search this Site:      GO
 

WCSU Libraries  xxx  Articles and Databases  xxx  General

27 links. Showing 1-27. --- Sort by title

Bibliographic Databases

Google Scholar
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Google...
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. GoogleScholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.
InfoTrac OneFile
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Infotr...
A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.
EBSCO Combined Databases
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Ebsco_...
Search all EBSCO databases, or a selection of EBSCO databases, simultaneously.
Library and Information Science Abstracts
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=LISTA
Indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.
Expanded Academic Index
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Expand...
General database with full text.
General Reference Center Gold
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Genera...
Provides access to a wide variety of general interest and business magazines and periodicals including, some in full-text, as well as encyclopedic resources.
Company Information

Lexis Nexis Academic Universe
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Lexis-...
Index to and full-text of legal news, court cases, law reviews, statutes, as well as major and regional news sources.
Directories

CollegeSource
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Colleg...
A virtual library representing 31,575 college catalogs in full cover-to-cover, original page format with 2-year, 4-year, graduate, professional and international schools.
Ulrich's Periodicals Directory
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Ulrich...
Ulrich’s Periodicals Directory™ is a bibliographic database providing detailed, comprehensive, and authoritative information on serials published throughout the world. It covers all subjects, and includes publications that are published regularly or irregularly and are circulated free of charge or by paid subscription. Limited to 2 concurrent users.
Government Publications

CIA World Factbook
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=CIA_Fa...
The U.S. government's complete geographical handbook, featuring 271 full-color maps and flags of all nations. Each country profile tracks such demographics as population, ethnicity and literacy rates, as well as political, geographical and economic data. Updated periodically throughout the year.
News

New York Times Historical
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=NYT_Hi...
ProQuest Historical Newspapers™-the definitive digital archive-offers full-text and full-image articles for significant newspapers dating back to the 18th Century. As part of the ProQuest Historical Newspapers™ program, every issue of each title includes the complete paper-cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format. This resource covers the complete run of The New York Times, from the first issue in 1851 up to 2004, and includes over 3.4 million pages.
Newspapers Full-Text
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Proque...
Full-text of several major world newspapers such as the New York Times, Christian Science Monitor and Boston Globe, as well as Hartford Courant.
Hartford Courant - Historical
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Histor...
Full-page coverage from issue 1, volume 1 of the newspaper starting in 1764 with coverage to December 31, 1922. This searchable digital archive of more than 280,000 pages of important historical content offers article-level search results, article zoning and edited metadata, including headlines, bylines and first paragraphs.
Reference Materials

Oxford English Dictionary
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Oxford...
A comprehensive, scholarly English-language dictionary based on historical principles, published by the Oxford University Press.
History Reference Center (EBSCO/iCONN)
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Histor...
The world's most comprehensive full text history reference database designed for secondary schools, public libraries, junior/community colleges, and undergraduate research. Features full text for more than 1,500 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers. Also includes full text for more than 100 leading history periodicals including Am! erica's Civil War, American Heritage, American Historical Review, American History, Archaeology, Aviation History, Civil War Times, Foreign Affairs, German History, History Today (back to January 1975), Journal of American History, Military History, Wild West, World War II and more. Further, the database contains 58,000 historical documents; 43,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 12,000 historical photos and maps; and more than 80 hours of historical video.
Information Please! Almanac
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Infopl...
A vast compendium of statistics with up-to-date facts and figures.
Beachman’s Guide to the Endangered Species of North America (iCONN)
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Endang...
Presents extensive data on the habitats and ecosystems of more than 1,200 species identified as endangered or threatened by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife service. Arranged taxonomically, entries include introductory information with an image of the species; a summary section detailing information on each species; a concluding summary of recovery efforts; and a bibliography of contacts for further information.
Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Merria...
Online version of the popular dictionary.
Grove Music Online
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Grove_...
Grove Music Online is an integrated music resource on the web, including the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (second edition), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz (second edition). Grove Music Online is regularly updated to ensure it remains the most up-to-date music reference work on the internet. (From the FAQ)
Blackbirch Kid’s Visual Reference of the World (iCONN)
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Visual...
Presents more than 2,500 graphs, charts, maps, and photos that cover the most important and interesting facts about every country on the planet.
Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine, 1st edition (iCONN)
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Altern...
Information on recommended therapies for specific disorders and diseases and medicinal uses for plants and herbs are balanced by conclusions of studies on efficacy and analysis of current levels of acceptance by traditional scientists and doctors. Includes more than 275 disease/condition entries, 300 herb/remedy entries and 150 therapies.
St James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture (iCONN)
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Popula...
Includes more than 2,700 signed essays ranging from 500 to 2,500 words, written by subject experts and edited to form a consistent, readable, and straightforward reference. Entries include subject-specific bibliographies and, where appropriate, photographs and textual cross-references to related essays.
CQ Researcher
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=CQ_Res...
Original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues shaping our world.
Blackbirch Kid’s Visual Reference of the United States (iCONN)
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Visual...
Contains more than 2,500 graphs, charts, maps, and photos that cover the most important and interesting facts about every state in the country.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=SEP
The SEP was designed so that each entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and substantive updates are refereed by the members of a distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public. Consequently, this dynamic reference work maintains academic standards while evolving and adapting in response to new research.
Encyclopedia Britannica
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Encycl...
Encyclopædia Britannica Online Academic Edition brings together the world-renowned content of the encyclopedia, with the speed and convenience of the Internet.
Wikipedia
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Main_Page
A web-based, multi-language, free-content encyclopedia written collaboratively by volunteers and sponsored by the non-profit Wikimedia Foundation. It has editions in about 200 different languages (about 100 of which are active) and contains entries both on traditional encyclopedic topics and on almanac, gazetteer, and current events topics. Its purpose is to create and distribute a free international encyclopedia in as many languages as possible.
27 links. Showing 1-27. --- Sort by title