University Libraries Haas | Young | Archives studentquiltselevatorilluminata
 
   About the Libraries Contact Us Hours Help PIN Codes
Search this Site:      GO
 

WCSU Libraries  xxx  Articles and Databases  xxx  Arts & Humanities

Highly Recommended

Academic Search Premier

15 links. Showing 1-15. --- Sort by title

Bibliographic Databases

Google Scholar
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Google...
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. GoogleScholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.
MLA Bibliography of Language & Literature
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=MLA_Bi...
Indexes critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Includes journal articles, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings and other materials.
Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO)
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=CCMC
Quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media, covering several hundred journals as well as major journalism reviews, recent encyclopedias, and handbooks in the area of communications studies.
InfoTrac OneFile
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Infotr...
A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.
JSTOR
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Jstor
Reliable and comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature. Backfiles ONLY - no articles from within the last 5 years. ALL full-text.
Expanded Academic Index
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Expand...
General database with full text.
Social Sciences Citation Index
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=SSCI
Provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in over 1,700 of the world's leading scholarly social sciences journals covering more than 50 disciplines.
Journals (individual titles - content and abstracts)

EJS - Electronic Journals Service
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Electr...
Gateway to thousands of e-journals containing millions of articles from hundreds of different publishers.
Musical Score

Digital Mozart Edition
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Digita...
The purpose of this web site operated by the Internationale Stiftung Mozarteum in cooperation with the Packard Humanities Institute is to make Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart's musical compositions widely and conveniently accessible to the public, for personal study and for educational and classroom use. HINT: When you arrive at the search screen, select English in the upper right-hand corner of the page.
Reference Materials

Grove Music Online
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Grove_...
Grove Music Online is an integrated music resource on the web, including the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (second edition), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz (second edition). Grove Music Online is regularly updated to ensure it remains the most up-to-date music reference work on the internet. (From the FAQ)
Grove Art Online
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Grove_...
Web access to the entire text of The Dictionary of Art, ed. Jane Turner (1996, 34 vols.) and The Oxford Companion to Western Art, ed. Hugh Brigstocke (2001). Offers ongoing additions of new and updated articles, over 1,500 thumbnail art images and line drawings displayed in the text of articles, extensive image links, and sophisticated search and navigation tools.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=SEP
The SEP was designed so that each entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and substantive updates are refereed by the members of a distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public. Consequently, this dynamic reference work maintains academic standards while evolving and adapting in response to new research.
Sound

Naxos Music Library: Fantasy Jazz
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Naxos_...
Naxos Music Library Jazz is one of the most comprehensive collection of Jazz music available online. It offers close to 20,000* tracks of jazz from over 1,900* albums. Over 500* jazz artists are represented. Naxos Music Library Jazz comprises Naxos Jazz and the 22 labels of Fantasy Jazz. Naxos Jazz, along with Prophone and Proprius, brings you the world of international Jazz, covering Sweden and Scandinavian jazz artist. US-based Fantasy has the world's deepest jazz catalogue and offers the very best in blues and R&B. All these can be accessible from computers in academic libraries, home or office.
Minimum System Requirements:
Wintel user:MS Windows 98SE/2000/XP with MS IE 6.0/Mozilla 1.7.1/Netscape 7.1 and Media Player 9/10 (MS IE setting: Privacy = Medium, cookies allowed**; Sound setting = No Sound)
Mac user:OS X 10.2.8/OS X 10.3.5 with MS IE 5.2/Mozilla 1.7/Netscape 7.1/Safari 1.0 and Media Player 9/10 or OS 8.6/9.0 with MS IE 5.1 and Media Player 7.1 (MS IE setting: Security Zone = Medium, cookies allowed**; Sound setting: Sound Effect = No)
Classical Music Library
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=CML
Classical Music Library is an ever-growing, fully searchable classical music resource—a comprehensive database of distinguished classical recordings. It includes tens of thousands of licensed recordings that users can listen to on the Internet. The audio selections are cross-referenced to a database of supplementary reference information. Unlike other resources on the Web, Classical Music Library is the only audio service developed exclusively with the needs of librarians in mind. It’s also the only dedicated library resource offering music licensed from major labels. Users browse, search, click, and then listen to the music over the Internet through their headphones.
Naxos Music Library
http://library.wcsu.edu/cgi-bin/go_db.py?db=Naxos
Naxos Music Library is the most comprehensive collection of classical music available online. It includes the complete Naxos and Marco Polo catalogues of over 165,000† tracks, including Classical music, Jazz, World, Folk and Chinese music. While listening, you can read notes on the works being played as well as biographical information on composers or artists in Naxos's extensive database. All these can be accessible from computers in academic libraries, home or office.
Minimum System Requirements:
Wintel user:MS Windows 98SE/2000/XP with MS IE 6.0/Mozilla 1.7.1/Netscape 7.1 and Media Player 9/10 (MS IE setting: Privacy = Medium, cookies allowed**; Sound setting = No Sound)
Mac user:OS X 10.2.8/OS X 10.3.5 with MS IE 5.2/Mozilla 1.7/Netscape 7.1/Safari 1.0 and Media Player 9/10 or OS 8.6/9.0 with MS IE 5.1 and Media Player 7.1 (MS IE setting: Security Zone = Medium, cookies allowed**; Sound setting: Sound Effect = No)
15 links. Showing 1-15. --- Sort by title