APA Style Citations

The following are examples of APA style citations for various situations. Use them as a quick reference.

They were taken from

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (5th edition).(2001) Washington, D.C.: American Psychological Association.
Ref. BF 76.7 .P83


CITING ARTICLES AND REPORTS:

Journal article, one author

Berkerian, D. A. (1993). In search of the typical eyewitness. American Psychologist, 48, 574-576.

Journal article, two authors, journal paginated by issue

Klimoski, R., & Palmer, S. (1993). The ADA and the hiring process in organizations. Consulting Psychology Journal: Practice and Research, 45(2), 10-36.

Journal article, three to six authors

Saywitz, K.J., Mannarino, A.P., Berliner, L., & Cohen, J.A. (2000). Treatment for sexually abused children and adolescents. American Psychologist, 55, 1040-1049.

Journal article, more than 6 authors

Wolchik, S.A., West, S.G., Sandler, I.N., Tein, J., Coatsworth, D., Lengua, L., et al. (2000). An experimental evaluation of theory-based mother and mother-child programs for children of divorce. Journal of Consulting and Clinical Psychology, 68, 843-856.

Magazine article

Posner, M. I. (1993, October 29). Seeing the mind. Science, 262, 673-674.

Periodical published annually

Fiske, S. T. (1993). Social cognition and social perception. Annual Review of Psychology, 44, 155-194.

Entire issue or special section of a journal

Barlow, D. H. (Ed.). (1991). Diagnoses, dimensions, and DSM-IV: The science of classification [Special issue]. Journal of Abnormal Psychology, 100(3).

Review of a book

Baumeister, R. F. (1993). Exposing the self-knowledge myth [Review of the book The self-knower: A hero under control]. Contemporary Psychology, 38, 466-467.

Quarterly newsletter article, single author

Brown, L. S. (1993, Spring). Antidomination training as a central component of diversity in clinical psychology education. The Clinical Psychologist, 46, 83-87.

Newsletter article, no author

The new health-care lexicon. (1993, August/September). Copy Editor, 4, 1-2.

Daily newspaper article, no author

New drug appears to sharply cut risk of death from heart failure. (1993, July 15). The Washington Post, p. A12.

Daily newspaper article, discontinuous pages

Schwartz, J. (1993, September 30). Obesity affects economic, social status. The Washington Post, pp. A1, A4.

Monthly newspaper article, letter to the editor

Markovitz, M. C. (1993, May). Inpatient vs. outpatient [Letter to the editor]. APA Monitor, p. 3.

Technical or research report

Mazzeo, J., Druesne, B., Raffeld, P. C., Checketts, K. T., & Muhlstein, A. (1991). Comparability of computer and paper-and-pencil scores for two CLEP general examinations (College Board Rep. No. 91-5). Princeton, NJ: Educational Testing Service.

Abstract as original source

Woolf, N.J., Young, S.L., Fanselow, M.S., & Butcher, L.L. (1991). MAP-2 epxression in cholinoceptive pyramidal cells of rodent cortex and hippocampus is altered by Pavlovian conditioning [Abstract]. Society for Neuroscience Abstracts, 17, 480.

Abstract from a secondary source (print periodical)

Nakazato, K., Shimonaka, Y. & Homma, A. (1992). Cognitive functions of centenarians: The Tokyo Metropolitan Centenarian Study. Japanese Journal of Developmental Psychology, 3, 9-16. Abstract obtained from PsycSCAN: Neuropsychology, 1993, 2, Abstract no. 604.

Report available from ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center): ERIC document

Mead, E.J. (1992). Looking at old photographs: Investigating the teacher tales that novice teachers bring with them (Report No. NCRTL-RR-92-4). East Lansing, MI: National Center for Research on Teacher Learning. (ERIC Document Reproduction Service No. ED346082)

CITING BOOKS & DISSERTATIONS:

Entire book, single author

Bernstein, T. M. (1965). The careful writer: A modern guide to English usage. New York: Atheneum.

Entire book, coauthored

Cone, J. D., & Foster, S. L. (1993). Dissertations and theses from start to finish: Psychology and related fields. Washington, DC: American Psychological Association.

Edited book

Gibbs, J. T., & Huang, L. N. (Eds.). (1991). Children of color: psychological interventions with minority youth. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass.

Book, no author or editor

Merriam-Webster’s collegiate dictionary (10th ed.). (1993). Springfield, MA: Merriam-Webster.

Book, group author (government agency as publisher)

Australian Bureau of Statistics. (1991). Estimated resident population by age and sex in statistical local areas, New South Wales, June 1990 (No. 3209.1). Canberra, Australian Capital Territory: Author.

Book, revised edition

Rosenthal, R. (1987). Meta-analytic procedures for social research (Rev. ed.). Newbury Park, CA: Sage.

Volumes in multivolume edited work, published over more than 1 year

Koch, S. (Ed.). (1959-1963). Psychology: a study of science (Vols. 1-6). New York: McGraw-Hill.

Encyclopedia or dictionary

Sadie, S. (Ed.). (1980). The new Grove dictionary of music and musicians (6th ed., Vols. 1-20). London: Macmillan.

English translation of a book

Laplace, P. -S. (1951). A philosophical essay on probabilities (F. W. Truscott & F. L. Emory, Trans.). New York: Dover. (Original work published 1814)

Brochure, corporate author, published by author

Research and Training Center on Independent Living. (1993). Guidelines for reporting and writing about people with disabilities (4th ed.) [Brochure]. Lawrence, KS: Author.

Article or chapter in an edited book, one editor

Hartley, J. T., Harker, J. O., & Walsh, D. A. (1980). Contemporary issues and new directions in adult development of learning and memory. In L. W. Poon (Ed.), Aging in the 1980s: Psychological issues (pp. 239-252). Washington, DC: American Psychological Association.

Article or chapter in an edited book, two editors

Bjork, R. A. (1989). Retrieval inhibition as an adaptive mechanism in human memory. In H. L. Roediger III & F. I. M. Craik (Eds.), Varieties of human memory & consciousness (pp. 309-330). Hillsdale, NJ: Erlbaum.

Entry in an encyclopedia

Bergmann, P. G. (1993). Relativity. In The new encyclopedia Britannica (Vol. 26, pp. 501-508). Chicago: Encyclopedia Britannica.

Unpublished doctoral dissertation

Wilfley, D. E. (1989). Interpersonal analyses of bulimia: Normal-weight and obese. Unpublished doctoral dissertation, University of Missouri, Columbia.

Doctoral dissertation abstracted in Dissertation Abstracts International (DAI) and obtained from UMI

Bower, D. L. (1993). Employee assistant programs supervisory referrals. Dissertation Abstracts International, 54(01), 534B. (UMI No. 9315947)

CITING LEGAL REFERENCES:
(see also The Bluebook: a uniform system of citation)

Statute in a federal code

Americans With Disabilities Act of 1990, 42 U.S.C.A. § 12101 et seq. (West 1993).

Statute in a state code

Mental Care and Treatment Act, 4 Kan. Stat. Ann. §§ 59-2901-2941 (1983 & Supp. 1992).

Case at federal district court

Davis v. Monsanto Co., 627 F. Supp. 418 (S.D. W.Va. 1986).

Case at state trial court

Casey v. Pennsylvania-American Water Co., 12 Pa. D. & C.4th 168 (C.P. Washington County 1991).

Case at U.S. Supreme Court

Brown v. Board of Educ., 347 U.S. 483 (1954)

CITING AUDIOVISUAL MEDIA:

Film, limited circulation

Harrison, J. (Producer), & Schmiechen, R. (Director). (1992). Changing our minds: The story of Evelyn Hooker [Film]. (Available from Changing Our Minds, Inc., 170 West End Avenue, Suite 25R, New York, NY 10023)

Motion picture

Scorcese, M. (Producer), & Lonergan, K. (Writer/Director). (2000). You can count on me [Motion picture]. United States: Paramount Pictures.

American Psychological Association (Producer). (2000). Responding therapeutically to patient expressions of sexual attraction: A stimulus training tape [Motion picture]. (Available from the American Psychological Association, 750 First Street, NE, Washington, DC 2002-4242)

Television broadcast

Crystal, L. (Executive Producer). (1993, October 11). The MacNeil/Lehrer news hour [Television broadcast]. New York and Washington, DC: Public Broadcasting Service.

CITING ELECTRONIC MEDIA:

Journal article copy retrieved from database

Buhler, P. (1993). Understanding cultural diversity and its benefits. Supervision, 54, 17ff. Retrieved October 23, 2000, from Ebscohost/Business Source Premier database.

Internet article based on a print source (see APA Manual, 4.16.71)

VandenBos, G., Knapp, S., & Doe, J. (2001). Role of reference elements in the selection of resources bypsychology undergraduates [Electronic version]. Journal of Bibliographic Research, 5, 117-123. Retrieved October 13, 2001, from http://jbr.org/articles.html

Article in an Internet-only journal

Fredrickson, B.L. (2000, March 7). Cultivating positive emotions to optimize health and well-being. Prevention & Treatment, 3, Article 0001a. Retrieved November 20, 2000, from http://Journals.apa.org/prevention/volume3/pre0030001a.html

Document created by private organization, no date

Greater New Milford (Ct) Area Healthy Community 2000, Task Force on Teen and Adolescent Issues.(n.d.). Who has time for a family meal? You do! Retrieved October 5, 2000, from http://www.Familymealtime.org

Document on university program or department Web site

Chou, L., McClintock, R., Moretti, F., & Nix, D.H. (1993) Technology and education: New wine in New bottles: Choosing pasts and imagining educational futures. Retrieved August 24, 2000,From Columbia University, Institute for Learning Technologies Web site: http://www.ilt.Columbia.edu/publications/papers/newwine1.html

Congressional Record

Jeffords, Sen. [VT]. (1995, August 1). Jeffords (and others) Amendment No. 2054. Congressional Record], 141, S11120(3 screens). Retrieved August 9, 1995 from Mead Lexis/LEGIS/RECORD:http://frwebgate1.access.gpo.gov/cgi-bin/waisgate.cgi?WAISdocID=743443810+6+0+0&WAISaction=retrieve

CITING WITHIN TEXT:

One work by one author

Walker (2000) compared reaction times
In a recent study of reaction times (Walker, 2000)
In a recent study of reaction times, Walker (2000) described the method.

One Work by multiple authors

Wasserstein, Zappulla, Rosen, Gerstman and Rock (1994) [Use as first citation in text]
Wasserstein et.al. (1994) found [Use as subsequent first citation per paragraph thereafter]
Wasserstein et.al. found [Omit year from subsequent citations after first citation within a paragraph]

Work with no author

On free care (“Study Finds,” 1982)
The book College Bound Seniors (1979)

Work with anonymous author

(Anonymous, 1988)

Two or More Works within the Same Parentheses

Past research (Edeline & Weinberger, 1991, 1993)
Past research (Gogel, 1984, 1990 in press)
Several studies (Balda, 1980; Kamil, 1988; Pepperberg & Funk, 1990)

Classical Works

(Aristotle, trans. 1931)
James (1890/1983)

Specific Parts of a Source

(Cheek & Buss, 1981, p.332)
(Shimamura, 1989, chap.3)

Legal References

Lessard v. Schmidt (1972) or
(Lessard v. Schmidt, 1972)
Mental Health Systems Act (1988) or
Mental Health Systems Act of 1988

Find us on Facebook